France Trip!

France 1

A few weeks ago, I wrote about my trip to the Cannes Film Festival. As the festival was only part of the holiday, I thought I would write a second one about the week as a whole. All in all, it was great. It is a shame it happened in my final year after everything had been handed in because everyone bonded really well. People I’ve known for years I now consider to be good friends and I won’t have the chance to see them again for a while. It has brought university to a fantastic end as the trip was great fun the whole way through.

The first day was travelling. It got off to a fun start though because I had a friend stay the night before so we could travel together. After an hour of walking around looking for a supermarket, dinner ended up being McDonald’s. The second day I mainly covered in last week’s post but after the failure at the screenings, a group of us spent the evening at the beach. While it was a stony and we all ended up in chalk, we still managed to pass a good few hours. Utter hilarity ensued, mainly because of the actions of a complete stranger. It will certainly be something we shall all remember.

France 2

Wednesday was beautiful. We went on a tour of the area. I’m not usually good on coach journeys, but luckily we were never driving for more than about forty minutes. We got to see two beautiful mountain villages with craft shops that were effectively built into the mountains. It did involve a lot of step climbing in the heat, but the shops were gorgeous and so unique. Naturally, that meant they were also expensive, but certainly not the usual shopping trip. In between, we were able to spend a couple of hours in Monaco. We were only able to see the area around the palace because the track for the Grand Prix blocked some of the usual routes down. But there were certainly some spectacular views and we had a delicious lunch while browsing some of the souvenir shops along the way. We were really lucky with the weather and it was such a fun day.

France 3

Thursday has also been covered. Friday was a little more shopping around Nice where we were staying, an hour on the beach and then a really yummy lunch by the seafront. Seafood pasta – couldn’t go to France and not have mussels! And followed by a crepe. I was very happy by that point, even if it did mean I was too full up for ice-cream! Then it was back to the hotel and time to start the journey home, by which point I was craving fruit and a good cup of tea.

It really feels like university has come to an end now. But wow, what a week it has been. It has certainly ended on a high. Has anyone else been away lately? Let me know!

Tag

2 thoughts on “France Trip!

  1. I love that you managed to take pictures while you were there!! I’ve never visited France so this was really fun to read. Sounds like you had an incredible time and I’m proud that we both made it through uni after our little hiccups!! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

