Book Tag: Reading Habits

Book Tags

To try and change things up a bit on here, I thought I would explore how much of an avid reader I am. I recently came across the idea of book tags and thought I would give it a go. So now once a month I’m planning on doing one.

To start of nice and easy, my first is on Reading Habits.

  1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Not in particular – I tend to be able to read anywhere. But my favourite place has to be sitting/lying/curling up on my bed with my book – can’t get better than that.

  1. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Bookmark. I have used random things when I seem to lose them all though. Luckily friends + Christmas rectified this.

  1. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

I can just stop anywhere. When reading at uni, I timed myself so I didn’t get too carried away and forget to work, so it got me used to stopping in random places.

  1. Do you eat or drink while reading?

I don’t tend to eat but more often than not I will have a cup of tea in my hand. If I am eating, it’s usually chocolate. Which doesn’t mix too well with books. But it’s yummy though!

  1. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

Not TV – it’s too distracting when I would rather be lost in the book. But I do nearly always have music on in the background. When I’m really into a book, I tune it out and stop hearing it though.

11328475_981823505190645_984602206_n

  1. One book at a time or several at once?

That can really vary. When I was at university and had to be reading fantasy books for my dissertation, I would have one for `work` and one for me. I try and keep it at one at a time just to keep on top of it, but have had three on the go before and didn’t have a problem with it.

  1. Reading at home or everywhere?

Everywhere. Using the library rather than my kindle has made that a bit harder but I love having my book with me. Many times I’ve nearly missed my stop on the train because I was so engrossed.

  1. Reading out lout or silently in your head?

Silently. I try and force myself to slow down so I’m properly sounding each word in my head rather than rushing ahead like I used to, but I know how annoying it gets listening to someone else reading out loud (unless they have kids) so don’t want to put others through it.

  1. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I never skip pages but sometimes I’ll forget where I left off and read the wrong bit. I try and resist as much as I can though!

  1. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

Theory v practice here. I like keeping it like new… it doesn’t tend to last though, especially not if I have got really excited about the book and dived in.

  1. Do you write in your books?

Nope! It feels like the most criminal thing you can do – ever!

So there is was. Hopefully you know a little more about me now. If you want to try these questions, feel free. Drop me a comment so I can come and have a read when you are done!

Tag

2 thoughts on “Book Tag: Reading Habits

  1. I think it’s insane that people write in (non school) books! Also I’m with you on the TV distraction, I can’t read with even the most rubbish thing on TV, I still get drawn into it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! I hate it even when I had to write in the ones for school, it felt so wrong! It’s awful isn’t it – a book really captures your attention but have anything on the TV and I’m hooked, haha! Thanks for reading and commenting, I really appreciate it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

