Book Tag: Reader’s Problems

Book Tags

Being an avid reader can sometimes be a challenge by itself. Here is my look at dealing with some of the problems of being a reader.

 1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

This is a hard one. I plan the blog posts around what I think of first of all, so that decides on a few. Then I stare aimlessly at the shelf until I just pull one out at random. There is no system – borrowing from the library can depend simply what comes in first.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

Stick with it. I hate not finishing books so I just keep plowing through. You never know, a twist might take you by surprise and you end up loving it. Besides, how can you have an opinion if you don’t finish it?

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Desperately and frantically. Basically read in-between everything I’m doing and hope that I can sometimes claw it back. And maybe picking slightly easier books just to get numbers ticked off – awful, I know.

4. The covers of a series you love do not match. How do you cope?

Luckily for me, my bookshelf is arranged by size so series do not necessarily stay together – helps me get over it. Strangely enough, that isn’t something that bothers me too much, which I know is extremely lucky or I would be forever frustrated.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

The internet. I have totally different tastes to my family and friends that are surrounding me. But luckily, the majority of my online friends have the same tastes so we all squeal and fangirl together. There’s always someone out there. Or I just squeal on my own.

Book Tag

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Put the book down if possible. Or look up for a few moments – with lots of hard swallowing – to try and handle the onslaught of emotions. While cursing the author in my head for being so damn brilliant for causing me to react in the first place.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!

If I can, I re-read the first novel. If I’ve liked it enough for the next one, then the chances are I’m going to want to re-read the first anyway. If not, read through a synopsis wherever I can find one to refresh my mind. But it never does the trick – have to remember who is who somehow.

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

Conveniently forget the book? To be fair, I’m happy sharing my books because I find it more rewarding to then discuss with others my squealing thoughts. And I tend to borrow books from the library so got used to weird copies.

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Timing. If I really can’t get through books, I set myself a time – say half an hour – set an alarm and force myself to read for that time. Sometimes that’s all the reading I will do in the day. Other times it can be enough to spark me off. Either way, it gets some read and eventually a book will grip me enough that I forget I had the slump.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I am a massive supporter of libraries so I tend to just put myself on the queue for reading them. There are also so many things that I want to read that I don’t mind waiting until they come in. Might be different when I have a job and/or an income so I can afford to buy them all.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

Ooh I’m awful for this. I’ve normally worked out what I want to read that month by the time I buy them so they just have to join the end of the queue and I realise I could have actually waited about three months before buying them.

So there we have it, this month’s book tag. Do you have any of these problems? Would love to see your take on this – drop me a comment if you do it so I can have a read!

Tag

Leave a Reply

