A Little Less Lonely Book Tag

Book Tags

It’s that time of month again, where everything is wrapping up and I decide to indulge myself in a book tag. This one I found over on Spines and Covers here and I thoroughly recommend you go and check out their blog, it’s awesome and I wish I had found it sooner.

So without any further ado, it’s time for some answers.

1. A classic that got you. Basically a classic book, modern or not, where you identified with the main character or any of the characters on a deep level. 

My first instinct is to say Fangirl, although that has been my answer to so many book tag questions. The way I identify with Cath is beyond anything though, and she taught me that it is okay to be a fanfiction writer and a serious writer and try and blend the two together. And that it is possible to find yourself, even when you don’t think you will.

But going back to a proper classic, I do remember Ballet Shoes getting to me as a little girl. I was really into ballet myself at the time and just connected with the characters. I’m ashamed to say I can’t even remember the plot any longer, might have to dig that one out soon.

26496387

 

2. A surprise. A book that surprised you with how much it affected you.

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan. I have only just read this book and was expecting to be bored – it’s not my usual genre. But something about it caught my attention. I was gripped the whole way through. Maybe it is because I’m at an awkward stage in my own life, but I suddenly felt the urge to do something spontaneous and turn things around… such as going to Paris. I wouldn’t normally admit to enjoying a book like this as much as I did, but I hold my hands up to this one. Something about it got under my skin and wouldn’t leave my mind for weeks afterwards. Who am I kidding, I still want to run away to a different country, start anew, fall in love…the whole lot.

16079967

3. Book you read at just the right time.

Ooh, this is a hard one and I’m staring aimlessly at my bookshelves and my Goodreads list to work out which book has managed to get under my skin lately. I would have to say The Earthsea Quartet by Ursula K Le Guin last year. It was just as I started my dissertation work writing a fantasy novel and was the first fantasy book that had truly captivated me heart, body and soul for some time. It gave me the boost and determination I needed and helped refuel my passion for the genre. Or rather, rekindled it, for it had never truly died. But for that boost of inspiration, I will always be thankful.

68041

4. A book that inspires you.

Sometimes, I hate how predictable I am. But this is another answer that only Christopher Paolini can give full credit to for me. The Inheritance Cycle was one of my first inspirations to be a fantasy writer, the first drive to dive into this genre and immerse myself in it all. To this day, whenever I need a bit of a pick me up, or need my faith – not only in myself but in the genre and writing in general – I find myself picking this up. I might have a massive list of other books to read, but it is always this series that gives me the boost I need to pick up the pen again. I just can’t help myself when it comes to this world. If I’m honest, I don’t even try!

15998023

5. A book that calms you.

I shall resist the temptation to put the same answer as before. In fact, both books that I could have used here I’ve already mentioned – and mentioned several times in several different posts. I’m struggling with this one because I’ve read a lot of new books over the last year which means that I’ve been swept away in the stories and the excitement more than I’ve been calmed by a book. If I was to go for anything, it would be a classic like Goodnight Mister Tom, for the story is so heartwarming and while adventure and excitement exists in it, it is not the magical sort that I’m used to in a lot of the other books I read. Other than that, it will always be my favourites – Eragon, Fangirl etc – because I know them so well I can just settle back into the world and be swept away without a care.

257758

How about you? Have a go yourself and don’t forget to let me know so I can have a read and check out your answers!

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

4 thoughts on “A Little Less Lonely Book Tag

  1. I’ve been trying to get my hands on a copy of “Ballet Shoes” since I watched the movie. I identified with it too from taking dance classes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

