Film Review: Gnomeo and Juliet

Gnomeo and Juliet 1

Gnomeo and Juliet 2Plot: Two warring neighbours find their feud escalated by their garden gnomes. Following the traditional story of Romeo and Juliet – only with a massive twist by the fact the characters/families are garden gnomes – this film discovers whether true love does have the power to overcome everything – war and even their own doomed ending.

But when things start to get out of hand, Gnomeo and Juliet must decide whose side they are on…and whether their love is enough for them to be able to bring their families together once and for all before more gnomes are shattered and lawn mowers destroyed.

Gnomeo and Juliet 3

Quote: `Why must you wear a blue hat? Why couldn’t it be red like my father, or green like…like a leprechaun…or purple like, umm, like some weird guy – I mean, what’s in a gnome? Because you are blue, my father sees red, and because I am red, I am feeling blue.`

 

Opinion: My attention was first drawn to this film during its release when some of the cast were on the Graham Norton Show and it sounded intriguing. While I wasn’t eager to watch it, I wanted to give it a chance. The title gives away that it will be a retelling of Shakespeare’s `Romeo and Juliet`, but it was certainly told with a twist.

I have to admit I was tired when watching this film. Maybe I would have enjoyed it more another day. But my overall impression of the entire film was that it was rather silly the whole way through.

The plot is self-explanatory: Romeo and Juliet. But Gnomeo himself decides that he doesn’t like the original doomed ending and is determined to change that. Fate doesn’t make it easy though.

There are a lot of well-known voices found in this film. On more than one occasion, I found myself rushing to IMDB to find out if a voice was who I thought it was…and was normally right. Due to the famous voices, the humour comes from some of the lines being delivered and the fact it is such a well-loved voice saying it that makes it funny.

Despite the humour – which was extremely well done – I just couldn’t bring myself to really get into this film. Partly it was due to not being in the mood, meaning I found things far-fetched (as if gnomes acting out Romeo and Juliet isn’t!) and personally couldn’t get the buzz from the film that can occur even when you know something is a touch ridiculous.

I personally have a less than favourable attitude towards this film. However, I would still recommend it as one of those ones to see and chalk up to experience. I’m not sure it would be any benefit from an educational purpose, but you never know – you could give the kids an understanding of Shakespeare through this film. But perhaps there are some powerful messages about love overcoming hate buried within this film and if that is the underlying message, how can anything truly be bad?

Amazon | HMV

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Film Review: Gnomeo and Juliet

  1. While this’ll never be one of my favourite films, animated or otherwise, it cracked me up while watching it. It wasn’t one to take seriously and, to be honest, I preferred it better than most Romeo and Juliet adaptions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

