Film Review: Perks of Being a Wallflower

Perks of being a wallflower 1

Perks of being a wallflower 2Plot: Charlie is an introvert who struggles to make it through each day at school. Not only does he have his peers to contend with, but flashbacks to the night when his Aunt Helen – his favourite person – was killed in a car accident haunt him. Invisible and alone, Charlie just wants to make it through the school year.

Charlie finds a new group of friends, an older group who are happy to take him under their wing and Charlie learns that life can’t always be about putting others first. Sometimes, the most important person you can focus on is yourself.

Perks of being a wallflower 3

Quote: `My doctor said we can’t choose where we come from but we can choose where to go from there. I know it’s not all the answers but it was enough to start putting the pieces together.`

 

Opinion: Perks of Being a Wallflower is one I have wanted to see for quite some time. But so saying, I had no idea what the plot was about. The only thing I knew was that it had Emma Watson in it and I was keen to see her in a different role. Having heard a few negative reviews, I did not have high expectations of this film.

The plot is slow-paced and at times I felt the scenes could have been cut shorter and it would have worked better. With the pace being so slow, it was hard to remain engaged all the time. But the storyline was a lot deeper than I was expecting; I was anticipating a usual high-school drama but the issues that Charlie and his new friends both face and overcome gives the film a real moral: that we can be anything we want to be if we work for it. I was not expecting that.

The characters are likeable in a charming, dysfunctional way. Initially there seemed to be a lot of characters being introduced, but enough attention was given to each that there was no time of forgetting who was who or their relationship with one another. From being quiet to loud, studious to flamboyant, there is a real mix of individuals and these all work to bring out the sides of Charlie that he isn’t aware exist. None of the characters are complete in themselves and that works.

The acting felt quite average. There is no way I would say it was bad at any point, I just never felt as if any of the characters had a real spark. This could have been a film to move you to tears, but I never reached that level of emotional engagement and this was partly due to the acting. It was alright – neither bad nor particularly strong.

I’m glad to have seen the film and felt it was stronger than I was anticipating. That is partly due to feeling as if I could relate to some of the characters and what they were experiencing. However, if you don’t have that connection, the film may appear boring.

Amazon | HMV

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

