My Favourite Series: 5 Reasons Why

Favourite SeriesOne of my recent book tag answers was I preferred series over stand-alone books. I feel you can get drawn deeper into a world when there are subsequent books to carry on the story. I think this is because I love fantasy novels, so having a series means there is time for the world to be properly built, for the laws and rules of that world established. The pacing can be a little slower if there are following books and the author can take the time to explore their creation. That is not to say I haven’t read stand-alone books that have been amazing, or series that have been bad.

After looking up blog post ideas (not ashamed to admit it, I struggle otherwise), I came across one talking about a favourite series. I am sure you have already worked out my favourite series is the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. It’s been my answer to a lot of the Eragonbook tags and has often cropped up when I’m talking about other things to do with books. But although I have reviewed each individual book, I thought I would take a look at why this is my favourite.

  1. The characters. There would be no plot without the characters and they are all so deep and complex. The characters in this world Eldest 1make me both laugh and cry. The bond between Eragon and Saphira is complex and something all of us secretly wish for – someone who knows you inside out, back to front and is still always there. How would that not draw you in?
  2. The world. So much depth has gone into the construction of Alagesia, including how long it takes to travel between places and the different routes available. From elvish dwellings in a forest to the rocky caves that house the dwarves, it literally has a bit of everything described in fantastic detail.
  3. The magic. I love a story of magic – especially where dragons are involved.Brisingr 1 As this story arc spans four books, magic is taken to a deep level. The rules, the possibilities and the limitations all feel explored in depth as the characters’ powers grow and they discover what they are capable of. It always feels more realistic when magic can’t be used to fix the problems and a plausible reason is given as to why.
  4. The plot. I couldn’t write a post like this and not mention the plot. Full of betrayals and twists, love and death, it has a bit of everything. It’s made me laugh, it’s made me cry and it’s made me forget to breathe as I frantically turn page.Inheritance 1
  5. It’s been with me since my youth. I first read Eragon when I was fifteen and find the books are as much of an inspiration now as they were to me then.

I can’t sum up why I adore this world so much, other than it transports me and there is nothing I like more from books.

How about you? What’s your favourite series and why? Let me know!

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

4 thoughts on “My Favourite Series: 5 Reasons Why

  1. I enjoyed the Inheritance series too when I first read it. I love the magic system. For some reason, it made me think of the internet with each mind as a separate computer. I guess I think so because Eragon had to guard his mind against attacks. It’s been a while since I’ve read some of the books so I hope I remembered all that correctly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

