Bookshelves: TBR Pile

TBR April

Between Lovefilm not sending me what I want and busy evenings where I haven’t got the things watched that I should have, I’m a review short this month. Honestly, I didn’t realise Everest was so popular! But rather than skip a post, I thought I would write one on my TBR pile.

It’s the first time I’ve done one like this, normally because I sum up what I want to read in my beginning of the month post. But a friend has lent me a few books and I figured it would be the perfect filler for this cold Friday morning.

the history of loveThe History of Love by Nicole Krauss

This sounds like a charming, heart-felt book. Hopefully it will be exactly that. But I have to admit I do have a few doubts; sometimes books like this end up just wafting along without any plot to drive it. The characters are going to have to be strong and really get to me for this to be good.

It also sounds like it is the type of book that might make me cry. Which I don’t mind, as long as it is in a good way because it has got to me.

The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colganthe little shop of happy ever after

I am so excited for this book! I read one of her other books at the end of last year, after being told it wasn’t my sort of thing, and fell in love with it. It really played to the dreamer in me. And this one is about reading, and libraries, and books, and fresh starts in life! It is literally everything I need right now.

Colgan’s writing helped me realise I enjoyed more than I thought, so I’m looking forward to seeing how this one opens my eyes. Or makes me want to run off to a different country.

miss peregrine's homeMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

My friend’s reason for lending me this was that she wanted to see what I thought. As the last time she did this, I fell in love with the book, I am intrigued to say the least. It looks like it could be interesting.

The one thing I will say about this book is that it is heavy, surprisingly so, in fact! It doesn’t look that thick, but it certainly is weighty! Not one for the train, I don’t think.

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire Norththe first fifteen lives

Another one where my opinion has been requested. This is another one that has piqued my interest just reading the blurb. It looks as if it is going to be something quite different, which is always refreshing providing it is done well. I’m always up for books that break away from the mould, and this sounds like it does.

Being recommended a book because someone doesn’t know how they felt about it is such an awesome invitation – no pre-thoughts on it, just intrigue as to what is to come.

 

Have you read any of these? What have you got coming up?

TagTwitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

