TBR Pile: July

Buying more books has one very satisfying outcome: it means I have to read more. What a shame! While the majority of my books are for reviewing purposes, I do have a collection I read purely for fun and for my own benefit. I know, the horror of it!

Never fear though! Just because I am not planning on writing reviews for every book I read doesn’t mean I can contain my excitement. As such, I thought I would share with you a few that I am planning to read over the next few months.

Here are five books on my to be read pile:

The White Queen by Philippa Gregory

Having watched the television show a couple of years ago, I couldn’t resist this one when I saw it. I’m intrigued to see how it was adapted and whether the show remains true to the book. The characters were fairly strong in the show and it will be interesting to see how they are on the page rather than just the screen. One to slate my curiosity more than anything.

 

Palace of Treason by Jason Matthews

This book caught my eye in WHSmiths, so when I saw it for £1 in a charity shop, I couldn’t say no! While this book is not my usual genre, the synopsis has caught my attention. I’m trying to push myself out of my comfort zone and I hope this book will sweep me along. As it’s relatively new, if anyone can point me towards reviews, that would be awesome!

 

The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern

The Marble Collector was lent to me by a friend, who thoroughly enjoyed it. The synopsis sounds intriguing and I hope the mystery is written well. If so, this could be a really engaging and gripping book, which I’m really hoping for. But I will try not to get my expectations up too much and just wait and see!

 

 

The Sword and the Throne by Henry Venmore-Rowland

I have to admit, I saw the cover of this book and picked it up. I have only recent discovered Roman fiction and have absolutely fallen in love with this genre. Admittedly the stories become much of a much-ness, but I love seeing how the different authors tackle that era. Having not read anything by this author before, I am looking forward to seeing what his take on it is.

 

The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cronwell

Yep, another one where I saw the show and thought I would give the book a go. Only this time, I didn’t enjoy the television adaptation. As the writer is one of my dad’s favourites, I want to see if it was just a bad adaptation and this time, the book is much better! We shall see.

 

 

So there we have it, the list of books I plan to tackle over the coming weeks. Have you read any of them? If so, what did you read and did you enjoy it? Let me know!

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

2 thoughts on “TBR Pile: July

Leave a Reply

