Novel Progress – August

Novel Progress 2

The last month has been a struggle in regards to inspiration. I have done well with blog posts mainly through good timing and luck, but everything else has been a nightmare. Anything creative was at a stand-still, including the novel.

I hope I’m not jinking it saying I believe that has now changed.

Novel Progress 1

I’ve mentioned before a publishing competition that I entered last year. Well, the results have finally come back and I managed to get through to the last twenty-five scripts being considered. When you realise there were over 1500 submissions, that is a big deal. You can only imagine how thrilled I was and how much of a confidence boost this has given me.

I knew the novel wasn’t complete rubbish thanks to getting a 2:1 when I used it for my dissertation. But knowing a publisher liked it makes me feel, for the first time in a long time, that I can actually do this.

Whether it was that confidence boost or because my situation has changed, I’m not sure. All I know is that my inspiration is back!

Over the last few weeks, I have been trying to discipline myself when it comes to writing. I am attempting to spend at least half an hour on the novel each day. So far, so good.

Writing first thing in the morning has always been ideal for me. It is now the first thing I do when I wake up: load up my tablet, set a timer and spend half an hour focusing on my work. There are some days when I only seem to edit and others where I spend the whole time writing. I find it easier to write on my tablet and edit on my laptop, so in a way, I can dictate what I want to focus on. More often than not, however, I see what I want the characters to do.

The more I write, the easier I find it. The same is true of any story, not just my novel. It keeps the plot firmly in my mind and ideas mull over in the background even if I am not conscious of it. The last week has felt amazing because as soon as I start my novel session, the characters are ready to play and I’m feeling as if I am moving forward rather than just re-reading.

Since feeling as if I am making progress, I have set myself the target of getting the first draft finished by the end of the year. It’s scary putting an (unofficial) deadline to it because it makes it feel real. But I have been playing with this story for so long that it is time I start pushing it seriously.

I can almost guarantee by my next novel post; I will be going backwards now I have made this statement!

For now, I am going to enjoy the characters playing nice and the satisfaction of indulging in my writing and seeing where it takes me.

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

