Book Tag: The Goodread’s Book Tag

Book Tags

Hellllllo everyone! It’s book tag time again – yay! I love writing this posts, I always find them relaxing (until I can’t think of an answer!) and a nice, quick post to get done amidst all the chaos. I delayed writing this one as long as I could so the books being mentioned weren’t just books I would then review, but who knows if I have managed to carry that off – there is only so long you can put off writing a post!

I found this tag over at Bookshelves and Biros and would strongly recommend you go and read their awesome answers (then come back here and read my not-so-awesome answers!)

Without any further ado, here we go!

1.  What is the last book you marked as read?

This is a tie because I finished two books on the same day, so marked them both at the same time! But that would be Jenny Colgan’s The Little Shop of Happy-Ever-After. It was my bed-time reading for a while because it was such a charming and lovely book. As other things came to an end, this then took precedence. Jenny Colgan is a weak spot for me – she’s not my usual kind of style, but her books just make me so warm and fuzzy!

2. What are you currently reading?

I have literally just started reading As A God by T.G Shepherd (sorry, a review book coming up!). I haven’t got far enough through yet to form an opinion, but I’m hoping it is a good one. I am also about to start The Last Star by Rick Yancey as soon as I pick it up from the library later today. I’m very excited about this book. Having just re-read the first two, I can’t wait to see how it concludes.

But for now, I am sticking with As A God as the answer to this question, haha!

3. What was the last book you marked as to-read?

It’s only been recently I have properly started to use the to-read function, but it’s working wonders to help me to keep track of what to read when! The last one I marked was All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. The cover attracted me to this book – it’s so pretty! – but when I read the synopsis, it sounded worth a go. I think it could be emotional, or heart-warming, or both or even somewhere in-between. Unfortunately, my to-read pile is pretty big so it might take a while to get around to it!

4. Do you use the star rating system?

Yes! While a lot of the books I read tend to be for reviewing purposes so I can order my thoughts and feelings while I write the post, not every book gets reviewed. By using the star rating, I can look back and at least have some idea as to how I felt about it. I also feel it helps give other readers a guideline – a lot of low ratings tends to imply the book is disappointing, regardless of how good it sounds. On the other hand, it can also get me excited when I see it has really high ratings!

5. What book do you plan on reading next?

I think I accidentally covered this in currently reading. I do, however, have a book due in at the library any day now that is making the top of the pile. I have been so excited for The Blood Mirror by Brent Weeks, I can’t wait to get my hands on it. I read the rest of the series about a year ago and am really looking forward to seeing how it concludes. I hope this is next, but who knows when it comes to the library!

6. Are you doing the 2016 reading challenge?

Yes! I set myself the target of 70 books for this year and feel I shall reach that with no trouble at all. While writing this post, I am currently on 61 books, so something tells me that it isn’t going to be a struggle making it. I upped it from 50 last year, so who knows what next year’s target will be!

How about you guys? Do you use goodreads and if so, how do you use it? Give the tag a go and don’t forget to let me know so I can come and read (stalk) your answers and see what everyone else is reading! Happy reading!

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

