Working in Retail: What’s in my Locker?

working-in-retail-6

A few months ago, I started a new job in a supermarket. I had just started my Masters and desperately needed something flexible to help me pay for it and this was ideal. It’s still perfect now and does what I need it to.

I’m sure everyone who works in retail will agree with me: it’s not always a pleasant job. Some people can be lovely, others…not so much. I have had some amazing customers that have been full of support and wished me luck when finding out why I am spending my evenings sitting on a check-out.

Others, however, seem to think I don’t exist. It doesn’t help that I don’t look my age…or maybe that does help when people assume I am still at school!

I decided after just a few weeks of work that it should be compulsory for everyone to work in retail at some point in their lives. It might open a few eyes as to what we have to put up with.working-in-retail-1

This post, however, is not a rant on people being rude (because, honestly, you don’t really want to get me started!). I haven’t done a beauty style post for ages, so thought I would explore what’s in my work locker.

Tangle Teezer – Boots, £10.99

Not the cheapest mini-hairbrush, but I love my Tangle Teezer. It never feels like it is ripping my hair and is great for either when I get to work or in a break to get rid of those knots and make me feel presentable again!

working-in-retail-3

Boots Essential Refreshing Cucumber Cleansing Wipes – Boots, £1.00

I’ve just discovered this range from Boots and I love it. All the products have a cucumber smell and really are refreshing – both in feel and smell! Yum!

During my long shift, my skin gets quite greasy. I give my face a wipe with these at lunch and it’s really revitalising. It always feels so much better and I feel ready to go again for the second half of the day!

working-in-retail-2

Botanics – Fast Absorbing Hand Cream – Boots, £2.89

This one said the magic words – fast absorbing. There is nothing worse than hand cream leaving your skin greasy or slippery, especially when you have a till to get to. Handling money and receipts was drying my hands out, especially on my thumbs.

I use this either before my shifts, or in my break. Since starting, I haven’t had any dry skin problems. It really is fast absorbing as well.

Problem solved!

working-in-retail-4

Sweet Snuggles Lip Balm – Superdrug, £1.00

Like my hands, my lips were getting dry. I wanted a cheap lip balm that I could leave sitting in my locker. This one came in a pack of three from Superdrug.

Wow, am I impressed! It’s really good! I’ve only used the blue one, which doesn’t have a taste but effectively moisturises my lips. I wanted cheap, not good, yet ended up with both.

Result!

working-in-retail-5

How about you? Any secret stashes to help you get through your day?

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

One thought on “Working in Retail: What’s in my Locker?

Leave a Reply

