Weekly Wonders: 20th – 26th February

weekly-wonders-copy

The Sword of Shannara appears to be one of the longest books I have read! It has been a long time since a book has taken me this length of time to read. In a way, I love it. Sometimes, I can’t immerse myself in a world in the same way when I know that in one sitting, I would have finished it. Of course, my one sittings can involve a five-hour train ride, so maybe that doesn’t count.

Thankfully, despite the length, the book has really grown on me. To start with, I was convinced I was reading Lord of the Rings – and was even matching up the characters! I’m really into the story and the adventure now and look forward to seeing how it concludes. I’ve only got about a hundred pages left now, so hopefully will get there in the next couple of days!

weekly-wrap-up-1

Long books aside, this week hasn’t been a great one. Since Wednesday, I’ve suffered from a couple of my crazy headaches again. I’ve got everything crossed that it isn’t my tablets stopping working (again!) because I really can’t deal with all of that right now. Not with the deadlines coming up. It was so bad on Thursday that I couldn’t make it in to uni – which I’ve never done before. Although that worked to my advantage, as thanks to storm Doris, everything was crazy anyway.

I have an unexpected week off work this week though because of holiday allocation – that I knew nothing about. Again, with said deadlines coming up, this is absolutely perfect timing and I plan to make the most of those extra few hours that I wasn’t expecting! Good things can happen too!

There has been a real mix of genres in my posts this week, which is fun! I love looking back at the week when it’s this mixed and seeing if I can work out what I enjoyed the most. The answer is simple: I can’t.

If you’ve missed any posts this week, check out what went live below:

Incendium and Across Great Divides both technically count as historical fiction, right? So how historic does something have to be to be classed as historical fiction? Does anyone know? There’s my random thought for the week!

I can’t believe this next week borders on March! I’ve got a few posts that I need to finish getting sorted for next month before I get behind!

But here’s a sneak peak of what is coming up:

  • Monday: Book Review: Ashes by Steven Manchester
  • Wednesday: Up and Coming: March
  • Friday: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

I’ve had a good session working this afternoon, so now this post is done, I think it’s time to snuggle with my book before getting an early night. The gym beckons first thing!

Have a lovely week, everyone!

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

