Film Review: The Girl on The Train

Film Reviews copy

the-girl-on-the-train-1Divorcee Rachel Watson rides the train every single day, despite having nowhere to go. Instead, she watches the `perfect` couple out of the window.

But no couple is perfect. When Megan goes missing, Rachel can’t help but get involved. She was in the area on that night, hoping to see her ex again.

After blacking out, Rachel has no memory of that evening. But something tells her she is involved in this mystery and she can’t walk away, despite police warning her to back off.

Rachel has to see things through, no matter what. She has to be needed again.

Film: The Girl on the Train

Director: Tate Taylor

Date: 2016

the-girl-on-the-train-quote

If anyone read my The Girl on The Train book review, you’ll know that I disliked it. I couldn’t engage with any of the characters and that undermined the entire book.

This is one of those rare occasions where I enjoyed the film more than the book – which I certainly wasn’t expecting!

The themes in the film are presented in a much clearer way. I don’t think I picked up in the book that all three women are victims of male abuse, whether emotional or, to some extent, physical. The entire plot revolves around one man unable to keep it in his pants, for heaven’s sake! I didn’t pick up in the book that sex and pregnancy is the underlying issue behind everything in this plot.

Although it has been some time since I read the book, the film stayed true to it apart from one major element: the novel is set in England, the film in America. It seems we all know where the finance for this film came from!

Emily Blunt must have been exhausted at the end of each day of filming! Rachel is an emotional mess and spends the entire time on the edge of a breakdown. Blunt showed that – fighting back tears for the majority of the film – and it must have been seriously draining for her. Her acting brought Rachel to life for me in a way that the book never managed.

All of the acting was strong. Haley Bennet was good as Megan – a complicated character who shows all levels of emotion in the film. On a shallower note, she is also really pretty, which is how I imagined the character to be in the books. The same with Anna – although the film presented her as more spoilt (wanting a child, but also wanting a nanny etc) than I thought she was in the book.

It isn’t often that I prefer the film than the book. But seeing the characters representing visually made them easier to connect with. Reading about an emotional wreck gets tiresome after a while, while watching it makes you appreciate the acting if nothing else.

So whether you loved the book or, like me, hated it, give the film a go. It might surprise you!

Amazon | HMV

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

3 thoughts on “Film Review: The Girl on The Train

  1. …. sorry pressed the go button to soon! It’s a while since I read Girl on the Train but I do remember being disappointed at the end. Just sometimes, as you say, the film is better than the book, though not often. I am definitely going to give the film a try!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I was completely prepared to dislike the film because I didn’t like the book, but it surprised me. Not the best film out there, but credit where credit is due, it was better than I thought it would be. I hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

