TBR Pile: March

tbr-march

Five months have passed since I last took a look at what was on my TBR pile. That only means one thing – I’ve come into possession of more books since then!

The books are a mixture of charity shop purchases (because, let’s be honest, who can resist those prices? No sane book blogger!), HMV bargains (how have I only just discovered this shop for books?!) and ones my friend has lent me.

Charity shop:

The Smoke Jumper by Nicholas Evans is first up. The colour scheme on the front cover instantly drew me in when I saw this. Reading the synopsis, I thought it sounded like a really good read. One of those books that you connect with emotionally and leaves you pondering.

The synopsis is intriguing – a story full of love, loss and how far people are prepared to go. It isn’t a short read at 500+ pages, so will have to slot it in somewhere.

Has anyone read this book? If so, let me know if it is any good – but no spoilers, please.

114020

At Night You Sleep Alone by Parkash Sohal was my other charity shop purchase. There seems to be a colour theme with these two books. This book was only released last year and the excellent condition initially caught my eye – sometimes hard to find in a charity shop.

This sounds like another book full of love and loss. It looks like the type that may have a satisfying happy ending – but don’t judge a book by its cover, right? Anyone got any thoughts or feelings on this one?

29506043

HMV Books:

I shouldn’t stand in queues in HMV. It only results in books!

I bought Room by Emma Donoghue. Not because of the film coming out, but because I have heard incredible things about this book. My dad was raving for it after he read it, but as it was on his kindle, I couldn’t resist and bought the physical copy. I only hope it is as good as all the hype!

8717323

Arrival by Ted Chiang also somehow ended up in my hand. This time, it was due to the film – I hadn’t heard of it otherwise. I am definitely planning on reading the book first! I’ve seen The Martian, Interstellar, Gravity – all these films set in space – so thought this time I would do the book first and see what it is like.

Do you normally read the book first or watch the film, if you have the option?

33115566

Borrowed:

I was so excited when I met up with a friend and she hadn’t me The Muse by Jessie Burton. I had been admiring it with a customer at work the week before – the prettiest cover I have seen for a long time.

I have no expectations for this book, other than hoping it is good! How about you? Read/planning to read The Muse?

27213208

So there you have it, a few more for my list. What is on your TBR pile at the moment?

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

7 thoughts on “TBR Pile: March

  1. Room and The Muse are both great! Room is so gritty and emotional and INTENSE. I read it really fast because I had to know what happened. The Muse is a well put together historical fiction with some good turns in the plot. I hope you enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

