Up and Coming: April’s Posts

Up and Coming

Although March has whizzed by in a blink of an eye, it feels like it has been ages since I wrote an `Up and Coming` post. Perhaps I was just more organised at the end of February in regards to knowing what I wanted to happen in March. Who knows!

I have had such a reading buzz lately that it was hard selecting four books to focus my reviews on. Although the way I have been going, I’m certain that I will get a few more slipped in there somewhere!

It’s because of the train journeys that I’ve been reading so much. But, scarily, I don’t have many of them left. Or, at least, they won’t be as frequent. I’m going to have to be careful how I plan my reviews from now on to make sure I can stay on top of things.

That being said, I’ve taken it as a personal challenge to see how much I can read before those journeys stop. I’m trying to get a better balance of books for reviewing and books for pleasure and, I must admit, it feels like it might be working. Watch this space is all I can say there!

So what did I decide to focus on this month in the end? Let’s take a look!

Up and Coming 1Books: First of all is Blood and Beauty by Sarah Dunant. This is a take on the Borgias and it’s an era that I know very little about. I’m not aiming for historical accuracy; I’m hoping for a book that is different to my normal reading habits.

The Star of the Sea by Una McCormack is next up. Having read The Baba Yaga last month, I’ve found myself intrigued and wanting to find out what happens to the characters. Besides, I had this book before the first, so wanted to keep some continuity going.

A Mighty Dawn by Theodore Brun is supposedly the Vikings/Danes era. Again, one I know little about but want to read something a bit different.

Then, finally, I’m wrapping it up with Elfstones of Shannara by Terry Brooks. Despite not being sure on the first book, I wanted to continue the trilogy and see if they improved at all. Hopefully it will be a good read.

Orphan Back 2Films: I must admit, I’m starting to have doubts about whether to continue reviewing films. But for now, at least, there are a few coming through.

Black Sails, series 4, finishes just in time to make it for a review. I’m finally continuing Orphan Black and so have the second series of that lined up – I hope it’s as good as the first.

I was excited about seeing The BFG, so had to give that a review. I am also hoping to see A Street Cat Named Bob, but am not sure whether I will get it in time or not.

So there you have it, my month! Has anyone seen or read any of the above? Let me know what you thought!

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

