10 steps to writing and scheduling a book review

10 steps to writing and scheduling a book review

Writing a book review isn’t easy. A few weeks ago, I mentioned to a friend how long it had taken to write up a review. She asked what was still left to do, then was surprised when I rattled off a long list before I’d say I was done.

I started thinking about the process of being a book-blogger; about all the things I didn’t know when I first started blogging.

I’ve never felt confident with advice blog posts – who am I to know what I’m talking about? But I did want to share my process, including some of the steps I wish I knew at the beginning of my journey.

Writing a book review

1. Reading: seems like a given, but don’t underestimate the time it takes, especially if you’re working to a deadline.

2. Writing: half the time, you’ll go totally blank. But start getting words on the page, no matter what they are.

3. Editing: this is when you clear up those random mind-dumps. Structure your review but – most importantly – check grammar and spelling, paragraph sizes etc. We don’t focus long on a screen; don’t give people the excuse to turn away.

4. Repeat step 3 until you’re happy – however long that takes!

5. Images: whether you take your own or source them from elsewhere (responsibly!), every blog post needs something to break it up.

10 steps to writing a book review
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

6. Edit images: I like to take the pictures – doesn’t mean I’m any good! I’ll then spend time editing my images. This can be a simple resize or adjusting the colouring etc, however far you want to go.

7. Social media/blog images: Canva is my new best friend. From graphics for the blog to twitter cards and pins for later, I like to get all my images done in one swoop (otherwise I forget about them!)

8. Platform scheduling: it’s time to get it up! I always forget how long this step takes. Images, links, layout, final edit, feature image and filling in the first tweet (if your platform allows this) Give yourself time to check you’ve got everything how you want it. I often use the preview option to be on the safe side.

9. Schedule promotions: if you think the hard work is over, ‘fraid not. I’m still getting a hold on what works for promotion after starting to take it seriously about six months ago. I personally use twitter, pinterest and Instagram, but have different expectations from each platform e.g. I don’t expect blog views from Instagram. While I used to leave this until the post was live, planning in advance stops me from missing out if I’m having a bad week.

10. Share your review: whether it’s Goodreads or Amazon, Netgalley or other retailers, sharing your review (and link where you can) spreads not only your blog, but your thoughts about the book. After all, that’s why we do this, isn’t it?

Everyone has their own process and what works for them! Do you have a system when writing a book review, or any blog post? I’d love to hear.

You may also like:

10 Steps to Writing & Scheduling a Book Review - Pin It

A Rambling Reviewer

Twitter Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram 

64 thoughts on “10 steps to writing and scheduling a book review

  1. Lindsey, great blog as usual. Seeing the process in detail reminds us authors how much bloggers put into it. Much appreciated. And on that note, if you want to review my new one coming out shortly (no worries if you’re swamped, and I think you maybe are), just let me know x JFK

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always forget and then wonder why it takes me so long, aha! The length of the book can be such a factor in how long it takes as well. Thanks, gorgeous!

      Like

  2. This is a great plan for writing and publishing book reviews. I have to be honest and say that sometimes I leave all mine until last minute and then I put a lot of pressure on myself. I am working towards structuring how I do my book reviews and including social media in to it too!

    Like

  3. Great post, Lindsey! Writing a book review definitely isn’t a quick job, is it? I remember spending soooo long on my book reviews although it would probably take longer now that I know about Pinterest and the importance of graphics and things like that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It certainly isn’t. Especially when you throw in reading time as well – I’m currently battling through an 880 page book and it’s taking a while. It definitely takes longer than it used to.

      Like

  4. This was such an informative post! As a new blogger myself I was especially interested in the steps you take to promote your blog ☺️. Thanks!

    Like

  5. Fab tips, Lindsey! Book reviews take such a lot of work that I’ve had to cut back on mine now. I always underestimated the time needed for a proper review. And you always do it for love, because there’s no way the time spent equates to the book’s monetary value, haha! Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh definitely, I sometimes wonder if there is even the same opportunities being a book blogger given the sheer amount of time each one can take.

      Like

  6. I wish you had written this when I was tackling my first book review a couple months back! I feel pretty good about it, since I wrote and read and edited, but I was surprised at how much time it takes not only to read the book, but to write a good review.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Brilliant tips. I think most people have no idea just how much is involved in creating any kind of blog post but with a book review, dedicating the time to reading can be hard enough!

    Thank you for sharing x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for the tips! These are so helpful! I really do go blank at the beginning but that’s only the start ?

    Like

  9. Great post. My process is similar, although because I review digital ARCs or audiobooks, I am using digital media. It’s a long process to search for the perfect background to highlight the book in. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  10. I have only ever written a few book reviews. I plan to write a few more as I read through my current reading list. Thank you for these tips, they are really useful in helping me to structure my future book reviews and to ensure I include all relevant information xxx

    Like

  11. I’m starting to learn that I really need to write my thoughts down as I’m reading. There’s been multiple times I ended up forgetting what exactly I didn’t like about a book once I get to the review! I need to start creating better images for posts too. I’ve been meaning to do it but I keep pushing it back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha oh yes I feel you there! Especially if I can’t get to writing the review for a few days and then I’m like um stuff happened? Images are hard – I’m in awe of some of the bookstagram accounts out there.

      Like

    • Oh that’s awesome to hear – I hope they help. Hehe I love finding out other people’s processes and how I can make mine better. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  12. Great Post, Lindsey. It’s not until you list the steps like this tgat you realise how much work goes into every post.
    On a personal note, I always underestimate how long it’s going to take me to read a book. I also always forget to promote my post after it’s live.

    Like

    • I don’t think I realised before writing it just how many steps there are to it all! Aha, yes, I’m guilty of overestimating reading time as well and then rushing to get the review done on time.

      Like

Leave a comment