2019: My year in books

Writing my 2018 book wrap up was harder than I thought it would be. I couldn’t remember half of what I’d read and spent most of it staring at my Goodreads shelf working out if I enjoyed the book. However, it was also fun – reminding myself of the books I’d loved and seeing how my tastes had altered as the year went on.

So, what’s a girl to do other than put herself through the torment of doing it again this year? January suddenly feels a long time ago now that I’m looking back on what I’ve been reading.

I’m using the Goodreads “your year in books” shelf again for some of the stats, but I’ve noticed a couple of bits seem to be inaccurate, so I’m hoping the rest is okay!

Here’s my year in books:

Books: 90

Pages:  34,941

Shortest book: The Dark Rival by Jude Watson

Longest bookQueen of Air and Darkness by Cassandra Clare

Average length: 400 pages

First review of the yearThe Fork, the Witch and the Worm by Christopher Paolini

Last review of the yearWayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Looks like I read slightly less, but with the books being a little longer – makes sense!

That’s my wrap-up. But here are the ones that really stuck with me this year:

Favourite stand-alone book (the impossible question)

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton is a clear winner: the most unique plotline I’ve come across this year. The book kept me hooked, I loved the characters, I was completely intrigued about the way it unfolded and I haven’t stopped raving about it since. Seriously – go and read!

Favourite series

Priest of Bones by Peter Mclean

I’ve had so many fantastic series come to an end this year! Sticking to my rules of books I’ve read just in 2019, it would be Peter Mclean’s War for the Rose Throne‘s trilogy. While only the first two (Priest of Bones and Priest of Lies) are out at the moment, I loved the intense plot and the reluctant heroes and can’t wait to see where it goes next.

Favourite new author

Skyward by Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson. He’s been on my TBR list for ages, but I finally got around to Skyward and I loved his writing. I’m looking forward to diving into his fantasy work!

Favourite re-discovered author

The Blood Mirror by Brent Weeks

Ouch this is hard. I’ve done a lot of re-reading this year as trilogies come to a close and I decided I had to re-read them all before I could finish the series. I’m going with Brent Weeks. It’s been years since I read his Lightbringer series but the first four books blew me away for the second time.

And finally, my most popular book review for the last 365 days is: Pendragon by James Wilde.

How has your year gone? What are your top reads? Let me know in the comments!

A Rambling Reviewer

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

37 thoughts on “2019: My year in books

  1. I still haven’t got round to reading The 7 1/2 Deaths Of Evelyn Hardcastle! Everyone went on about it last year so I really need to find the time to read it. Hope your 2020 is just as bookish!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOVED 7 1/2 deaths, was so so clever and really interesting. If you’re a fan of murder mysteries, would recommend The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley – it’s not quite as clever and slightly more towards chick lit but feels like a modern day Agatha Christie and I enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of my top traditionally published reads for 2019 was The Institute by Stephen King, though I also rediscovered a few books I’d previously read and liked, like Crichton’s The Sphere. My favorite indie book of the year – that’s a tie between Moonshadow by Joy Lynn Goddard and Kat Kinney’s Dyrewolf – very different books, very different authors, but I loved both. I spent a lot of time with editing and releasing a new book of my own, and a short story just before Christmas, so those were my bookish labors of love this year, and they took up quite a bit of space. All in all, I’d say 2019 was a good year for books.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I always love to see what everyone’s favorite books of the year were. I have 7.5 deaths on my list and I added Skyward. Thanks for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can’t believe you read 90 books, that’s like nearly 2 books a week, I mean HOW???!! I think my longest was Queen of Air & Darkness too, what a book though, that breakneck ending. I haven’t read Evelyn Hardcastle but I think I might have to put it on my TBR list now, it seems a very popular one. Great round up! Lisa x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great wrap up! I loved The Seven 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle too, such a great book, I think the author is working on his next project currently so it’s definitely one to watch out for! One of my favourite books last year was The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, it’s a beautiful story about the power of books and stories with some forbidden love and mystery thrown in. Hope 2020 is another great reading year for you x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow 90 Books! I wish I read that many books last year, trying to get better at reading more this year, I miss always having a book to read in the evening! I tried reading The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle before, but hadn’t got into it sadly! I tried reading at least 50 pages but couldn’t make it, thinking I should probably give it another try! I’ve never heard of the War for the Rose Throne’s trilogy before, I’ll have to check it out on Goodreads.

    My top read for 2019 would have to be Me Before You, the Legend series, and The Sun is Also a Star!

    Sahara
    https://www.saharasdreams.com/

    Like

  8. 90 is great! I set my goal for 50 this year but I’m on 10 right now so I’m hoping for more. I love that you included only a few that stuck with you. It says a lot when you read that many, the few that stand out must be amazing! I haven’t read any of these so I’m adding a couple to my TBR x

    Sophie
    http://www.glowsteady.co.uk

    Like

  9. This is inspiring for me because all last year, I kept telling myself I wanted to dive into reading more My favorite types of books are mystery novels, dramatize love stories, comical self-development, cookbooks, and fashion. It’s amazing you read 90 books in one year,T I’m feeling inspired by your journey so this year, I will set a goal to reading five. Wish me luck lol!

    Natonya | https://justnatonya.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment