Film Review: Star Wars: Rogue One

Film Reviews copy

Rogue One 1

Synopsis: The war is over and terror is taking the Galaxy in an iron grip. The Rebellion are doing what they can in order to prevent total anarchy, but have little effect against the strength of the Empire.

Jyn doesn’t care about the Rebellion. She doesn’t care about the Empire either. After her mother was killed and her father taken by the Empire, she has become good at it as well. She has no interest in war.

When word comes from her father that there is a flaw in the Death Star plans, Jyn must decide what she believes in.

 

Film: Star Wars: Rogue One

Director: Gareth Edwards

Date: 2016

A friend told me that those who weren’t bothered by The Force Awakens loved Rogue One and vice versa. I seem to fall into a category by myself then: I wasn’t bothered by either.

I enjoyed Rogue One. The dialogue was fantastic and the droids, as per usual, stole the day. More than once I laughed out loud and was completely engaged during the final battle. But I struggled to properly connect to the characters and felt like the plot meandered: it could have been a shorter film and have more of an impact.

Part of the problem with the characters was that there were so many of them!

Although I liked Jyn, her change of heart felt a little extreme. She went from not caring about anything to being determined to lead the Rebellion. It just didn’t feel right to me – a plot device rather than character development as it was from one extreme to another. They could have done it Han Solo style: a slow change of heart, with actions speaking louder than words.

You can stand to see the Imperial flag reign across the Galaxy?

It’s not a problem if you don’t look up.

Cassian, despite his screen time, felt underplayed. We learn a little about him during a heated confrontation with Jyn and understand his morals when he refuses to follow orders. We see his changes; we first meet him when he kills for the Rebellion, then witness him refuse to follow an order to do the same. It feels like there was something missing though.

Felicity Jones (Jyn) and Diego Luna (Cassian) were both strong in their roles. I didn’t feel any connection between them though, which undermined any connection of their characters.

The problem with the characters is we’re given shallow glimpses into a lot of people. In a way, it worked, because if we were given that connection with the characters, it would have been a very traumatic film! I’ve never seen anything with that sort of ending. It might tie up with the original trilogy, but I certainly wasn’t expecting no one to witness the fruits of their success.

The dialogue was one of the strongest parts of the film. Or maybe it is because the droids delivered the best lines; their deadpan voices makes the entire thing funnier. It broke the tension on more than one occasion and inserted humour into what could have otherwise been a heavy film.

The effects were amazing. But with this franchise and Disney behind it, I would have been stunned if they were anything else. The detail that goes into each and every scene is incredible – and always has been with Star Wars, whether old or new.

The continuity was extremely well done with matching the film up to the original trilogy. There were a few occasions when it suddenly clicked who someone was, or who they were referring to. It gave the film an extra layer of depth, which is always enjoyable.

Rogue One is a good film, but for me personally, it lacked an element I can’t put my finger on. Good entertainment though.

Amazon | HMV

Tag

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

3 thoughts on “Film Review: Star Wars: Rogue One

  1. Great review! I’m one who loved both The Force Awakens and Rogue One, although I do agree with you about how we only got small glimpses into the characters’s lives. I guess it’s the difficulty of trying to squeeze the story into the timeline and have it lead directly into A New Hope, but I still would have really loved to know more about all of the characters that we met.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too! I think I need to watch both again, as with already knowing the storyline, I might get into it more. I love the others, especially the originals, so I want to love these ones! Thanks so much for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

