Book Tag: New Year’s Resolution

I always end up scouring the internet for a book tag each time I need one. Part of my problem is I always find them in the wrong season: a summer tag in the depths of winter, a Christmas tag in the middle of summer.

When I saw this one, I jumped at the chance. First tag of the year – seemed like a fitting one! I discovered it on The Book Nut but I’m not certain who started it. If you know, please let me know so that I can credit them!

I’m hoping that between this tag and my wrap-up a few weeks ago, it will help me figure out where I’m at with books and what’s first up on the agenda for this year! On with the tag…

1. An author you’d like to read (that you’ve never read before).

For a while now, I’ve been intending to read Sarah J Maas. I’ve seen her books everywhere and read some really positive reviews as well as having the books recommended to me. With any luck, this will be the year that I finally get around to them.

2. A book you’d like to read.

Oh heavens, I’m supposed to pick one? There are loads of things that I want to read this year! But for fear of ruining some of the later questions (series etc), I’m going to go with Landline by Rainbow Rowell. I’ve been meaning to read this for ages, but somehow it’s never quite factored into my reading plans. This will be the year..!

3. A classic you’d like to read.

This sort of answers the next question as well. But I read The Great Gatsby at school and really went off it. I’m hoping to read it again this year and have my fingers crossed that I will enjoy it this time around. Does The Great Gatsby even count as a classic? I studied it, therefore it’s a classic in my mind, hehe!

4. A book you’d like to re-read.

This is also one that is hard to narrow down to one book. I’ve got quite a few series that have new additions this year and I’m hoping to re-read the earlier ones in the trilogy this year.

But if I have to pick a stand-alone, it will be The Year of Saying Yes by Hannah Doyle. I read this in 2017 and it left me feeling inspired and motivated. I think this is going to be the perfect New Year read, so I’m hoping I’ll get to this in the next few weeks.

5. A book you’ve had for ages and want to read.

Oh goodness, it’s worrying how many books I have that fall into this category! I’d probably pick The Hate U Give I deliberately put it off because I wanted to wait until the hype had died down but it does mean I’ve had it sitting there for a while and it is definitely time to give it a go.

6. A big book you’d like to read.

Gnomon by Nick Harkaway. I intend to review this book but keep putting it off because it is a 900 page book. But it’s reaching the top of the reviewing pile again though, so this time there is no choice. With my commute, it shouldn’t take too long to get through, but is certainly a hefty read. I’m glad I’ve got the ebook!

7. An author you’ve previously read and want to read more of.

This is quite an easy one for me: Robin Hobb. I started reading her books a few years ago and then mistakenly stopped for ages. I got back into them again last year, but am determined to get through at least one of her trilogies this year. Her books play havoc with my emotions and I look forward to seeing what’s coming next.

8. A book you got for Christmas and would like to read.

My sister got me both screenplays for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Once I’m done with swooning over the covers, I’m really looking forward to reading both.

9. A series you want to read from start to finish.

There’s way too many to count. The new Brent Weeks is out this year, which I believe is the last in the series so I’m hoping to storm through all of them one after the other (she says). I have also been meaning to re-read The Mortal Instruments from start to finish again as it has been ages, so with any luck I can do both.

10. A series you want to finish that you’ve already started.

Again, there are a few. As previously mentioned, there are a few trilogies coming to a close this year. I believe the new Ed McDonald due this year finishes his series though, so would like to complete that. I’ve only read the first one so far, so another one I’m hoping to get through book two and three.

11. Do you set reading goals? If so, how many books do you want to read in 2017?

I’ve set myself a Goodreads challenge over the past few years. Judging by how I managed to do last year, I’m going to aim at 90 books this year. It could be ambitious as I’ve got some long ones I want to get through, but it’s called a challenge for a reason, right?

12. Any other reading goals?

Last year, I got fixated on keeping on top of reviews (we just won’t mention that I’m still behind!). I’m really hoping this year that I’m going to do better at reading things for pleasure rather than reviewing, as it means I can shift some of the books I’ve had sitting around for ages just because they haven’t made the reviewing pile.

How about you? Do you have goals and plans for your reading this year? I’d love to know what they are so that we can motivate one another. Feel free to do this tag – and let me know if you do!

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

10 thoughts on “Book Tag: New Year’s Resolution

  1. I really want to read The Hate U Give but haven’t got around to it yet. I also really like the sound of A Year of Saying Yes. I loved Gatsby but I didn’t read it when I was in school and I think that makes a huge difference!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh ‘The Great Gatsby’ definitely counts as a classic! I hope you enjoy it the second time round because it’s a great book! I’m hoping this year to read more motivational and self-help books. That will probably have to wait until the second half of the year though as I’m currently bogged down in final year uni reading and don’t have the energy to read anything else that is lengthy haha!

    http://www.whatevawears.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks – I haven’t got to it yet but I’m really hoping I enjoy it more this time. Yeah, that does always kill the enthusiasm for reading for fun when you have to – good luck!

      Like

Leave a comment